Prof. Elinor Ostrom, Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science at Indiana University and an Economic Sciences Nobel Laureate, delivered the 21st IEA Annual Hayek Memorial Lecture on the subject of 'The Future of the Commons: Beyond Market Failure and Government Regulation'. Opening remarks are delivered by Prof. Philip Booth, Editorial and Programme Director, and Mark Littlewood, Director-General.